merry and sad

I love it when the snow starts falling on my blog.  Here are some scenes that fit perfectly with the falling snow, to get you into the silent snowy night mood.  If you pause here for a moment, the snow will have enough time to fall over the photo:

image courtesy Vincent Carnevale

image courtesy Vincent Carnevale

image courtesy Richard Hurd

image courtesy Richard Hurd

image courtesy Mine Konno

image courtesy Mine Konno

And now a few things I wrote to get you in the holiday mood:

What to give a crazyfabulous feminista teenaged girl?  This is what!  (A shopping article.)

One Perfect Ornament (A personal essay about missing my friend Susan, who died near xmas.)

Wild Thing (Going to get a tree.)

Enormous Tree (Poetry and a tour around our crafty xmas tree.)

Wish List (A little whatnot about how stupid I get around the holidays.)

Warm holiday wishes to you and yours!

About Anna Fonté

Girl in the Hat, aka Anna Fonté, is an author who writes about invisibility, outsider status, everyday monsters, and her attempts to befriend the neighborhood crows. The things she writes want you to look at them.

20 comments

  1. checkasmith

    I really like the third image. It looks really quiet and peaceful, and the way the street lights illuminate the falling snow is beautiful.

  2. That first one is really magical!
    Love the other 2. Both suggest styles of 2 famous painters
    Merry merry to you!

  3. Happy Holidays, Anna! I love it when it snows on the blog, too. I always turn mine on.

  4. I love the falling snow too! My favourite thing about the blog at Christmas time. The first picture truly looks magical with the snow falling over it. Nice post! 🙂

  5. happyandhealthyclub

    Loved the pics!

  6. johnberk

    I’m sad that there is no snow in Toronto. All three images helped me to catch at least some of the snowflakes with my mouse. Let’s hope there will be more snow coming in January.

  7. Those gently falling flakes make me smile too. You never need to shovel them! Great fun post. Hope you have a great holiday.

  8. I loved the article about what to buy a teenage girl. I have two daughters and have vowed after reading this to spend more time watching old movies with them that I grew up on- ‘singing in the rain’, anything with Doris Day in it- to name just a couple. I need to dig out some of my childhood books too-‘Anne of Green Gables’ and ‘The Famous Five’. Great post. X

  9. This is an older post, but I wanted to comment because I really liked the pictures! I love love love snow but here in NYC it gets dirty so quickly!

  10. yellowpaintt

    This is such a beautiful post! Me? I love the snow…maybe just *idea* of it, since i’ve never seen it..

    I like how you describe the photos. 🙂

    smiles your way!
    C.

  11. Beautiful Pictures. I love snow.

  12. Wow these pictures are AMAZING

  13. i loved the first picture ! the way the lamp post is glowing in the dark.. so magical ❤

talk to me

