everything is everything

waveI’m looking for a job, any job, and I’m not alone. I thought I’d have had it all figured out by now, but I don’t. Everywhere I go, I run into friends who are looking for work–smart, capable, thoughtful people who can’t find a way to get paid: older people looking for meaning, people my age hungry for change, and young people trying to get started. I read the blogs in my subscription-feed and it hits me like a mallet: we’re all here struggling to find truth, say something, communicate, connect, and find our place.

This song is a little pick-me-up to all of us, like Alarna Rose Gray, who are tirelessly, eloquently, wonderfully tying to figure it out.  I know it’s a bit old-school, but it’s a great song to get you pumped up before you go outside to shake hands and make a deal.

What song pumps you up?  Include the link here, if you want.
 

 

About Anna Fonté

Girl in the Hat, aka Anna Fonté, is an author who writes about invisibility, outsider status, everyday monsters, and her attempts to befriend the neighborhood crows. The things she writes want you to look at them.

26 comments

  1. It is indeed a great song and these are difficult times..

  2. I love Lauren Hill and that song. I wrote a blog post about Job security, you might find it interesting. http://www.joeseeber.com/job-security/ I gotten myself into making money online. You might find this interesting.

    anyway, awesome site.

  3. I know a lot of people who are struggling here in Michigan, either out of work or having pay and benefits lowered. I wish you the best in finding something fulfilling.

    The lack of decent jobs, despite what “experts” say about the recovery, is a symptom of our times. It makes me wonder about the economic trend that seems to be pushing people towards either rich or poor (mostly poor). When the middle class has shrunk far enough, what then? Maybe things will boil over as economist Richard Wolff predicts. (Just heard him interviewed on Moyers–very scary stuff.)

  4. Oh, thank you for the blog hug, Anna! I feel the changes we are facing are just a small reflection of changes on the bigger stage… Life as we know it.
    This song is what’s pumping me lately…

  5. A song I’ve been dancing around the house to lately: A Little Revolution by Firewater
    http://vimeo.com/m/49248219

    It is coincidently, very suitable. I think you are already doing what you are meant to be doing, though. X

  6. Great song. I’m ashamed to admit…it really dates me, but the song that pumped me up when I needed it so many moons ago, Helen Reddy, I am Woman, Hear me Roar.

    Hey, good luck. The right pieces of the puzzle have to fall into place. SOON.

  7. I heard this one on the Brit and listened all day yesterday and today.
    It is a belter after about the first 30 secs

  8. Sadly, I was just over at Averil’s saying I don’t have any hipster recommendations —- nor do I have anything inspirational unless it’s an old ballad like Dan Fogelberg singing “Run for the Roses” which kills me every single time. “Because it’s run for the roses, as fast as you can. Your fate is delivered, your moment’s at hand. It’s the chance of a lifetime, in a lifetime of chance. And it’s high time to join in the dance.”

    (see what I mean….)

  9. Stevie Wonder’s “For Once in my Life” is a great pick-me-up song that, though it hints at romantic relationships, can really be applied to finding a love of any kind and of the beauty and energy that such a love gives to a person. You can’t go wrong with “Everything is Everything”, though.
    –JW

talk to me

