urban fauna

turkey4Please forgive this digression from my normal tone and content, but I just saw a bizarre thing on my way home from dropping the kids off at school: a showdown between a black dog and a flock of wild turkeys.  This sounds like the start of a joke but I’m telling you, I saw it with my own eyes ten minutes ago.

The turkeys liked the look of this guy’s house.  They wanted in, and he fought valiantly to hold down the fort.

turkey11
Some of you who live in rural areas may not blink an eye at this, but I live in a city.  There are no wild turkeys here.  I felt like a tourist on safari as I sat in my car snapping pictures, telling the dog he was doing a good job.  I was there to offer moral support. He was a stiff old guy with lots of gray and he looked a bit stressed out. I didn’t want him to have a heart attack of something. “Good boy,” I crooned.

It was one versus more than ten.  They had the dumb gall of a gang but he had the teeth and every time they closed in on him, he barked and sent them flapping into the street.  That black dog and I were probably thinking the same thing:  What the hell are these guys doing here and what do they want?  Are they dangerous?  Are they good to eat?

About Anna Fonté

Girl in the Hat, aka Anna Fonté, is an author who writes about invisibility, outsider status, everyday monsters, and her attempts to befriend the neighborhood crows. The things she writes want you to look at them.

16 comments

  1. I love tales of urban fauna! Sweet old dog…

  2. Mike

    This roving gang of hooligans walked by our house the other day. Luckily our black dog was napping.

  3. My parents’ dog chases turkeys away from the house. She hates them, wants to eat them, and is terrified of them at once. The turkeys always get off the ground just in time, leaving poor Jill two seconds away from grabbing a tail.

  4. gailytr

    probably have dragged it hjome to his owneers and proudly deposited on ????

  5. The wild ones taste just like chicken, like all other wild game. Hee hee.

  6. Priceless. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Hi Anna,
    Great story. We have “urban turkeys” here too. See them in our back yard at least 2-3 times a week in the early mornings. Crazy!!!
    Haven’t visited for a while…, how ya doin’?
    Paul

    • Paul– where is this sister city that hosts gangs of wild turkeys? and can we blame this on global warming? I am well, still trying to dig my way out from under this pile of wrapping paper and mashed potatoes.

  8. A man in my writeing group is obsessed with turkey hunting.
    He calls them thunder chickens. The man wears a necklace
    of turkey spurs, and never talks of anything that isen’t turkey.
    When asked to read some of his matieral he demonstrated
    some turkey calls –

    If what he says is to be believed – domestication ruined this
    magnificent bird.

    • Ha! Rastelly, that is rich. I’d pay big bucks to be a fly on that wall, for sure. (Actually, I think you just described my father in law. You don’t live near Zachary, LA, by chance?)

  9. You mean the Zachary that is near Baton Rouge? Could be. Small world.

talk to me

