recycling

My friend Courtenay Bluebird at Bluebird Blvd. and I just discovered a mutual obsession:
Thrift Shopping!
Courtenay is a wonderful writer/poet/photographer who always makes me think more and feel better. Her blog is so full of treasures and goodies I could get lost in there, digging around forever.
In the spirit of recycling, I thought I’d re-use her fabulous posts here.
Click here to read her Flea Market Reverie
And here to read What Changes is the Way We Say It

*
Click here for my previous post, How I Became a Bag Lady
And here for my post about thrifty art on Optic Nervy

And click the video below to see a hysterical video  Courtenay showed me. Every time I see this video, it makes me grin and do a little dance. Yes, it’s a bit crude, but if you like thrift shopping and silly white rappers, you must, must see.

Are you a thrift shopper, too? What’s the best thing you’ve ever bought second hand?

Late entry: After reading this post, Waldo Tomosky also wrote about his thrifting experience (or, more precisely, the effect a thrift addiction had on his life via an intervention). Go check him out.

About Anna Fonté

Girl in the Hat, aka Anna Fonté, is an author who writes about invisibility, outsider status, everyday monsters, and her attempts to befriend the neighborhood crows. The things she writes want you to look at them.

25 comments

  1. I’m a big thrift shopper, but my boyfriend is even more addicted (and he’s got a lot of money, which is one of the things I find most charming about him — not the MONEY, but the fact that he’s an inveterate thrift shopper). He recently got a beautiful tuxedo for $15 for his son to attend his senior prom.

  2. Pingback: Flea Market Reverie « Bluebird Blvd.

  3. DANGER! DANGER! DANGER! ADDICTION TO FOLLOW! I never bought a thing for myself until I retired. Then I bought seven beautiful sweaters @ $3 each. I couldn’t stop. My family had an intervention for me which included the local priest, a fashion model, my mother’s psychiatrist, a Ukranian balalaika strummer, two Texans and a cross-dressing Republican. It didn’t work. I now live in one of those little church barns where people dump their used clothing (and other stuff that I can not mention here).

  4. OT: Do you have a friend named Robin? My mom’s maiden name was Sparough. Can I be in the club?

  5. I once bought some old books in the resale shop. I paid 50 cent for each book. When I got home and opened one of the books I found a 20 dollar bill in one and a love letter in the other. You never know what you are going to find in old books!

    • Now that’s what I call a bargain. Was the love letter good?
      I keep all kinds of things tucked inside my books (letters, photos, art my kids made, etc.). Maybe that’s not such a good idea.

  6. I found an awesome vintage tweed overcoat once in the $1 box. People would comment about how cool a coat it was and then I wore it out, not because I “wore” it out but because I talked too much about it only costing $1. Sometimes treasures are best kept in the heart.

  7. Thank you, thank you, thank you, Anna! You’ve turned this into one of the most fun blog days, ever!

    Gosh, I don’t know if I could pinpoint one thing. I’ve found a lot of pretty cool stuff over the years.

    Um, a few years ago, I found several books that are actually worth a few hundred dollars apiece as they are really rare and/or old. One of the books is “BIrds of America: John James Audubon.” It’s the 1930s edition, so it’s worth about $400 now. It is beautiful. I paid $2 for it, and I got it specifically to read it to my grandmother.

    That’s pretty cool, right?

    • Holy frijoles, CB. I want to see that book. I bet it’s amazing. I bet you’ll never, ever sell it.
      This was so fun! Thank you for extending your virtual hand out my way for a connection.
      I feel inspired to go pop some tags. I can’t wait to see your blog post about your birthday haul.
      xoox

      • I should post a picture of it! The lithographs alone… oh and the weight of the pages…. Well, it’s just a beautiful book.

        I had a great time, Anna! And I got to know you just a little bit better— which is fantastic. And just wait! When I post the birthday haul, I’ll be doing linkbacks. That will be Sunday. I’m so excited! (Big HUG!)

  8. If I were president of America, I would make Anna vice-president!

  9. Yes! I bought some lovely milk-glass wineglasses a few months ago, and everything about them makes me happy. The MCM shape of them reminds me of a Jetsons cartoon, and I like the stories I imagine about where they came from.

    I picked up some fabulous jeans long ago and they lasted me forever. They had colorful embroidery all around the hem–very seventies–and they fit like a dream.

  10. Love it! The reusing and the video is a hooot!

  11. Pingback: Our Sunday Best: A Thrifted Life « Bluebird Blvd.

  12. Pingback: Recycling, reusing, second handing and my underwear (Notice I didn’t say PANTIES!) « This, that, – - – and the other thing

talk to me

